Things I have learned while building a theater #1

I have learned that applying for a zoning change with the city is not something that anyone should have to figure out on their own, and that I should maybe go into business helping people do it, because it sucks. (Props must go out to Shanna, our City Planner, for dealing with my incessant emails.)

I have learned that painting an open-truss ceiling is a massive pain in the ass, even if you are 120 miles away while it’s being painted.

I have learned that while Dry Fall paint sounds really cool, it’s actually just code for “Hahahahahahaha!!! Now you will find pockets of paint dust in your space for the next ten years!!”

I have learned that most set designs in this town probably, technically, do not conform to fire code and are therefore illegal. (Shhhhh. I won’t tell if you won’t.)

I have learned that there are a whole lot of awesome people who are willing to help us in a lot of different ways.

I have learned that a lot of this process is just luck in timing, and that I owe a huge thanks to the U of M for cleaning out their storage room just when I needed risers.

I have learned that my dog can devour a 1-inch dowel or piece of pine 1x in about three seconds. He is also a huge wimp who is afraid of walking on platforms unless it’s the only way to get around to you.

I have learned that I am not the only person who is really excited about this space, and that is really exciting.

Leave a Reply

