Tanum

I owe y’all a catch-up post for the last few days, but first I’ll tell about Tanum, where we were yesterday (Sunday). This area, on the western coast of Sweden, has one of the highest concentrations of Bronze Age rock carvings anywhere on earth. Most of the carvings date between 1500bc – 1ad.

I will let them speak for themselves.

bull pulling the sun

mourning woman

This one means "Don't drop your cell phone off the boat."

This is the biggest rock carving of a god/dude. Ever.

Sacred reindeer doing that sacred thing he does...

These guys are fighting the Celts. You can tell because their shields are square.

fertility goddess

These guys are hunting with their dogs. Can you tell I miss Kubla?

3 responses to “Tanum

  • Garry Geiken

    Hee, Hee. “Don’t drop your cell phone off the boat.” Hee, hee, hee….

  • Dan Pinkerton

    Thanks for showing me your etchings, Liz. I’m glad you didn’t actually let them speak for themselves. I was impressed by the etchings and amused by your comments. Smartass.

    God dude had a pretty impressive dude thing. But I suppose that comes with the God dude territory.

  • mjneerland

    Liz,
    This posting just caught my attention and I was reminded of a site in Minnesota very near the farm of my grandparents. It is called the Jeffers Petroglyphs (http://www.mnhs.org/places/sites/jp/history.htm) and the art forms are very similiar. Well, sort of. About as similiar as bison vs. celt fighters can be! Very cool.

Leave a Reply

